I Bore Easily

March 17, 2008

gywosubprime.gif

Originally, I started this blog with intent to follow through on a very specfic project. My goal was to blog about the sexism that I encountered in the course of my every day life–in school, on the street, at work, or anywhere else. I wanted to document the sheer volume of this crap, look at it directly and offer it up to an audience as a kind of proof that my anger and occasional moments of rage are in some way justified.

What I discovered is that there is a reason that, as a rule, those of us on the receiving end of this kind of crap don’t actually want to confront the sheer volume of the assault. Its psychologically damaging to sit down at the end of a long day and count up a long series of injuries and abuses. Not to mention, its kind of repetitive and …boring. I found myself only bothering to remember and share with you the notable, or the amusing; a tiny portion of my intended catalouge.

This has made for more entertaining blog posts, but sparse posting. To supplement my content, I also found myself adding to my personal experiences with more standard blogular fare, like commentary and other musings beyond the 1st person.

In any case, all of this is to say I intend to continue as I have, but now without the guilt. I have decided that the flaw lies my original intent, rather than with my execution. As it turns out, I can only keep my mind off the abstract for so long. The ‘about’ page will be updated when I feel like it.

Carry on.

One Response to “I Bore Easily”

  1. puerdixit said

    Despite my Catholic upbringing, I am in favor of a higher content:guilt ratio for you & your blog.

Leave a Reply

